Virat Kohli Named as Captain of the Year 2016


India Test skipper Virat Kohli has been named as the ‘Captain of the Year’ at the 10th annual ESPNcricinfo Awards. Kohli led India to nine wins out of 12 Tests in the year gone-by.

virat Kohli Best Captain

Kohli brought to the captaincy of India an ambition that previous captains had not, but that ambition was in keeping with the progression from Sourav Ganguly to Rahul Dravid to MS Dhoni to Kohli.

In modern cricket, where there is so much input from coaches and data analysts, a captain’s vision for a team becomes more significant. In the year 2016, Kohli’s vision for India’s Test team was 20-20.

“Kohli’s influence is likely to be profound on the type of Indian cricketer to come, and therefore on the nature of cricket that India will play in future.

India’s seamers have bowled more quickly and aggressively than England’s and the ground fielding has been just as intense, areas where traditionally England might have expected an edge.”

Winners were selected by an independent jury including former cricket greats, ESPNcricinfo’s senior editors, writers and global correspondents, comprising Ian Chappell, Mahela Jayawardene, Ramiz Raja, Isa Guha, Sambit Bal, Courtney Walsh, Mark Butcher and Simon Taufel among others.